Winner Announced for the 2016 Aberg Center for Literacy Youth Poetry Contest!

Youth Poetry Contest Winner.png

The poems have been processed, the meter measured, and couplets considered - and what has emerged from the days-long deliberation by Aberg Center staff, volunteers, and contest organizer, World Poetry Slam Champion Joaquín Zihuatanejo, is a definitive Winner of the 2016 Aberg Center for Literacy Youth Poetry Contest. 

And that winner is (drum roll.....)

KATRINA CSAKY of Highland Park Middle School

(crowd goes wild) 

Congratulations to Katrina for taking home the $200 grand prize, plus all the bragging rights that go along with being crowned a poetry champion! 

And congratulations to our other finalists for making it through the grueling elimination rounds and placing in the Top 5. The final decision was very difficult and all five finalists should be very proud of their accomplishment. Those finalists in order:

2nd Place - CINDY REN of Highland Park High School (Winner - $100 prize)
3rd Place - JORDAN ALLEN of Skyline High School (Winner - $50 prize)
4th Place - MELISSA PUENTE of A. Maceo Smith High School (Winner - $30 prize)
5th Place - SITA BHANDARI of Conrad High School (Winner - $25 prize)

In addition to prizes, the 5 finalists will have their name and excerpts from their poems published in the official program of LITERACY in MOTION. The top 18 poems will also be on display in the lobby of the Latino Cultural Center during the event, which features U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera and KERA's Krys Boyd. 

Congratulations to our winner, finalists, and all contest participants! Dallas certainly has a groundswell of amazing literary talent to look forward to.