Winner Announced for the 2016 Aberg Center for Literacy Youth Poetry Contest!

Youth Poetry Contest Winner.png

The poems have been processed, the meter measured, and couplets considered - and what has emerged from the days-long deliberation by Aberg Center staff, volunteers, and contest organizer, World Poetry Slam Champion Joaquín Zihuatanejo, is a definitive Winner of the 2016 Aberg Center for Literacy Youth Poetry Contest. 

And that winner is (drum roll.....)

KATRINA CSAKY of Highland Park Middle School

(crowd goes wild) 

Congratulations to Katrina for taking home the $200 grand prize, plus all the bragging rights that go along with being crowned a poetry champion! 

And congratulations to our other finalists for making it through the grueling elimination rounds and placing in the Top 5. The final decision was very difficult and all five finalists should be very proud of their accomplishment. Those finalists in order:

2nd Place - CINDY REN of Highland Park High School (Winner - $100 prize)
3rd Place - JORDAN ALLEN of Skyline High School (Winner - $50 prize)
4th Place - MELISSA PUENTE of A. Maceo Smith High School (Winner - $30 prize)
5th Place - SITA BHANDARI of Conrad High School (Winner - $25 prize)

In addition to prizes, the 5 finalists will have their name and excerpts from their poems published in the official program of LITERACY in MOTION. The top 18 poems will also be on display in the lobby of the Latino Cultural Center during the event, which features U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera and KERA's Krys Boyd. 

Congratulations to our winner, finalists, and all contest participants! Dallas certainly has a groundswell of amazing literary talent to look forward to. 


Youth Poetry Contest Finalists Announced!


The ballots have been counted and the finalists have been selected for our Youth Poetry Contest from over 50 entries from across DISD and Dallas area schools.

Congratulations to the finalists (In alphabetical order):
- Jordan Allen
- Sita Bhandari
- Katrina Csaky
- Melissa Puente
- Cindy Ren

The winner will be announced May 3rd on!  The top three Finalists will receive cash prizes in the following amounts:

1st Prize- $200
2nd Prize- $100
3rd Prize- $50

Plus the winner's poem will be printed in the official program for Literacy in Motion - An Evening of poetry and performances with U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera - May 12th, 7pm @ Latino Cultural Center - hosted by Krys Boyd of KERA's Think.

The top 18 entries qualified to have their poetry displayed at the event, which will also feature live performances from a group of captivating local poets, including Jason EdwardsJonathan Gno White, and Jason Carney, founder of the and slam champion Clebo Rainey, and World Poetry Slam Champion Joaquin Zihuatanejo

 For more info on this event CLICK HERE