Aberg Center for Literacy Receives Jack Lowe Sr. Award for Community Leadership from the Dallas Bar Association

Left to Right: Jerry Alexander, Peter Aberg, Shana Harrison, Janet Schoenecker and Katie Anderson

Left to Right: Jerry Alexander, Peter Aberg, Shana Harrison, Janet Schoenecker and Katie Anderson


On Friday, October 14th the Dallas Bar Association presented Aberg Center for Literacy with the prestigious Jack Lowe Sr. Award for Community Leadership during their Education Symposium at the Belo Mansion.

Members of Aberg Center's Staff, Board of Directors, and Advocate Council were on hand to accept the award from Dallas Bar Association President Jerry Alexander (pictured: far left).

The award honors Jack Lowe Sr., founder of TDIndustries and former Salesmanship Club President who served as chairman of the Multiracial Dallas Alliance Education Task Force in the 1970s and led the fight to desegregate Dallas schools.

Past award winners have included:

Past recipients of the Jack Lowe Sr. Award include Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship of Greater Dallas (2013), Vickery Meadow Learning Center (2012), Jubilee Park (2011) and Former DISD Superintendent Linus Wright (2009).

"We are tremendously honored to receive this award," said Aberg Center Executive Director Shana Harrison, "and to be in such prestigious company with those who have won this award in the past."

"We believe that the fight to advance literacy in Dallas is at the core of overcoming such issues as poverty and racial inequality, issues Mr. Jack Lowe Sr. fought passionately against. We would like to thank the Dallas Bar Association and President Jerry Alexander for their advocacy of Aberg Center for Literacy and their support for equality in education here in North Texas."

The event featured a number of speakers and panels, including a discussion with DISD Superintendent Dr. Michael Hinojosa, the Keynote speaker at Aberg Center's Legacy of Literacy Breakfast on October 27th.

Legacy of Literacy Breakfast 2016 - Reserve your Table Now!


The 2016 Legacy of Literacy Breakfast will be held on October 27, from 7:30 to 9 a.m. at the Belo Mansion, 2101 Ross Avenue, Dallas. 

We are excited to have The Dallas Morning News return as our presenting sponsor and Dallas ISD Superintendent Dr. Michael Hinojosa as our keynote speaker. We will also be honoring longtime Aberg Center supporter KERA 90.1 Think Host Krys Boyd with the Aberg Literacy Advocate Award.

About Dr. Hinojosa - Dallas is home to Dr. Hinojosa. A graduate of Sunset High School, he started his career in education as a teacher and coach at W.H. Adamson High School. He has two sons who graduated from Hillcrest High School. He served an initial term as superintendent in Dallas ISD from 2005-2011, and returned as interim superintendent in July 2015. In October 2015, the Board of Trustees formally approved his return to the district as superintendent.  As someone who has experienced our public schools as a student, parent and leader, his expectations for Dallas ISD are high. He has implemented key initiatives, including the Teacher Excellence Initiative, more Public School Choice opportunities, and expanded Early Childhood and Career and Technical Education programs—all of which impact our Aberg Center families.

About Krys Boyd - Krys has been host and managing editor of the midday talk show Think since 2006. She began her career along the U.S.-Mexico border, working simultaneously at radio and television stations. A graduate of TCU, she returned to North Texas in 1999 and worked at Broadcast.com and Yahoo before joining KERA in 2001. At Think she has been a champion of literacy and has generously shared her time and talent with Aberg Center as a host and supporter of multiple organizational events, such as this Spring's Literacy in Motion.

To purchase your tickets or table for the Legacy for Literacy Breakfast CLICK HERE

For more information about Legacy of Literacy Breakfast please contact Shana Harrison at sharrison@abergcenter.org or 214-826-6501, ext. 105