8th Annual Legacy of Literacy Breakfast

website lolb.png

Aberg Center for Literacy's 8th annual Legacy of Literacy breakfast was held at the Belo Mansion Thursday, October 26th. This breakfast recognizes the hard work and determination of the supporters that contribute their time and money to the continued growth and success of Aberg Center.  This year marks 15 years of service in the DFW area.

Anna de Haro, Public Affairs Director at iHeartMedia,  hosted the breakfast and Victoria Neave, attorney and Texas State Representative, was the keynoter speaker.  Todd Williams, received the Aberg Literacy Advocate Award and past board presidents Charles Aberg, Becky Clontz, Janet Schoenecker, Holly Greef, and Mary Carter were honored for their years of service and leadership to Aberg Center.

Two student speakers,  Curtis Major and Marta Velazquez, spoke to the audience about thier experiences since coming to Aberg Center to further their education

Following the breakfast, a matching funds challenge of $24,000 was presented and met by the supporters of Aberg Center.